Skip navigation

 

 

In the early ’60’s our family moved to the little town of Greenwood, Louisiana, just outside of Shreveport, and also near the town of Waskom, Texas.  In our large back yard, the best climbing tree ever–EVER–grew next to a chain-link fence.  A Mimosa, every summer it’s pinkish reddish fuzzy blossoms would decorate the tree, adding color and unique beauty in my eyes.  I spent a lot of time in that tree.  Many years later, after my kids were grown and gone, we moved to Silver Spring, Maryland.  Due to the haste to relocate so that Richard could start his new job right away, he moved to Maryland one month ahead of me and found a house for us to live in.  Imagine my surprise and joy when I first saw the house, and after walking through it, looking out the back door and seeing a Mimosa Tree!  Not only was it the kind of tree I use to climb and play in, it grew in the same location of the yard, next to a chain-link fence as the tree of my childhood.  I am much bigger now so climbing trees is out of the question, and the tree that grew in Maryland was in no way large enough yet to be considered a climbing tree, but it still triggered fond memories of summer fun from years gone by.  When we left Silver Spring, I was truly sad to leave the tree behind. I am grateful for Mimosa Trees!

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Gratitude 25: Mimosa Trees (perpetualgratitude.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment