Skip navigation

Daily Archives: June 28th, 2011

 

Recently we made a quick trip to another state.  He went on business; I tagged along just for the fun of it.  Since we met, Richard and I have loved traveling, both long treks and day-time excursions.  We travel by car (pictured above) so that we can stop when we feel like it, make detours along interesting side roads, or even change directions if so inspired.  Until recently I owned “my” car (as compared to “his” car).  In fact, I’ve owned a car most of my adult life.  Due to the fact that my car sat in the driveway 95% of the time after we moved to Virginia, I voluntarily sold it.  Why make two car payments each month when we were essentially using one car.  Of course, as one might have predicted, once my car sold I found that I “needed” it for a number of reasons. By now though, we are settling into being a one car household.  I don’t know any family who does not have a vehicle to transport themselves to myriad destinations for work and play.  In metropolitan areas where there is good public transport, one may not need to own their own car, but only because other vehicles are so readily available to whisk them wherever they want to go.  Automobiles have become an essential part of our lives, replacing the horse and buggy of a bygone era.  So, today I wish to express gratitude for the automobile!