Skip navigation

Daily Archives: June 1st, 2011


With summer just around the corner, and temperatures already hitting the upper 90’s, I find myself thinking of the beach.  This photo was taken on Mother’s Day a couple of years ago when I visited my daughters and grandson in Chicago. As warm as it looks, we were wearing jackets and parkas, even so this reminds me of summer time at the beach, lying on a lounge or a beach towel under a larger umbrella with tons of sun block slathered on.  The beach suggests relaxing with a good novel, toes in the sand, a dip in the lake–or ocean, if that is the case.  There is so much more than just relaxing at the beach.  There is an entire eco-system that we are often oblivious to.  But for today, I am grateful for the beach and the fun and relaxation offered there.