Skip navigation

Daily Archives: June 14th, 2011

 

 

This is the final week of the quarter (MS in Mental Health Counseling).  For the past week and a half I have been dragging my feet, moaning and groaning, and generally being miserable about meeting deadlines and the accompanying stress.  I wake up each morning feeling that I am just too old to start a new career.  There are many many many other things I would rather be doing.  Certainly there are other occupations that I could excel in without having to spend three years and tons of money pursuing another degree.  I find myself wondering if this is worth the trouble, the headaches, the intensity, the time.  This morning as I sat here preparing to dive in to these last quarterly projects, it occurred to me how privileged I am to be able to pursue an education.  There are people the world over who would jump at the opportunities I have taken for granted.  I reflected on what I have learned over the past year, my goals and aspirations, the dreams of how Richard and I want to live out our “golden” years. I never was one to dream about retirement, but  have always pictured myself working and contributing not only to the family, but to the world, to making it a better place.  As I contemplated these things, I suddenly felt very humble and grateful for the rigors of getting an education, pushing the mind to do what was once thought impossible, the pleasure of grasping a new concept, or gaining new insight.  I remembered why I started this venture.  It has been about a year since I formulated my five year plan and I am happy to say that I am still on track.  Fortunately, Richard is the kind of person who continues to encourage me and to believe in my capabilities.  Education.  It comes in many ways for each of us.  I’m tired.  I’m ready for the quarter to be over.  I need a vacation.  Thankfully there are just a few days left and then I’m free. . . for three weeks, at which time I will do this stuff all over again.  But after some quiet moments of personal reflection this morning, I am immensely grateful for the privilege of getting an education.