Skip navigation

Daily Archives: June 22nd, 2011

After a day on the road, a nice, comfy, warm bed is absolutely wonderful!  I could have gotten a photo of a neatly made bed, but that wouldn’t have conveyed the same message as this one does.  Yes, it is a motel, and no, it isn’t as good as our bed back home.  But I’m thankful that we have beds to sleep in.  I remember once sleeping in a bed where the mattress support was nothing more than interlaced rope tied to the frame, and the mattress was a simple thing stuffed with cotton (as in cotton bolls). I’ve slept in sleeping bags on the ground, feather beds which were heavenly. . .mostly, and rolled mattresses that were laid out on the floor for us kids to sleep on at my grandparents farm-house.  Whatever the type or make or comfort, I must say that I am always grateful for beds.