Skip navigation

Have you ever noticed how the simple things in life are the real day-brighteners? The older I get, the more I eschew the material-hoarding lifestyle that seems rampant in today’s American culture. Rather, I (we~R and I talked about this just last night) prefer a walk in the woods, time with the children and grandchildren, settling down with a good book, a phone call from a friend, bird watching and a host of other activities, all of which lift my spirits and imbue me with a sense of wonder and awe . . . and hope. Yesterday I found myself in the doldrums; academic books, notes and such strewn everywhere. Late in the afternoon I defiantly pushed myself away from my desk, took up my camera and left the apartment. I was only gone for about 30 minutes, but in that thirty minutes I came upon a beautiful blooming tree. Sitting in its shade, I breathed in deeply, savoring every aroma tinged breath. I shot a few photos. Spirits lifted,  I returned to my studies with renewed vigor and peace of mind. I know what is really important . . . and what is not. I am grateful for a beautiful flower on an otherwise gloomy day.

4 Comments

  1. You are soooo right! It’s the small wonders that matter. Only we need to see, appreciate and be grateful for them.

  2. What a beautiful entry – I agree with you completely. And it helps so much to stop and REALLY look at the world around you when life seems too rushed, too depressing. Its amazing what you find when you take a breath, stop, and really look around. Thanks for stopping by my journal 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by Melissa. I’m glad you like the entry. Taking time to breath and look around is cathartic for the soul, and it helps me to remember what is truly important in life. 🙂


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Gratitude 116: A beautiful flower on an otherwise gloomy day~ (perpetualgratitude.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

