Skip navigation

 

This may sound strange to many people, but I am grateful for tears. Tears represent the release of different emotions and show the outside world what is going on in our inside world. Tears express joy, sadness, anger, grief, confusion, hormones, you name it. There have been times in my life when I felt the need for a good cry but could not find that release.  There is nothing wrong with tears despite society’s aversion to seeing them. Yes, there are times when it probably is not the appropriate response to a particular situation, but eventually we need to express and release our emotions, albeit in safe ways. Tears help us do that. When each of my three children were born I cried tears of joy. When each of my grandparents died I cried tears of sorrow. When verbally attacked, I would eventually have to cry to release the tension and fear I felt in my body. Tears have often been abused which is why I presume we are afraid of them. For instance, tears may be used to manipulate someone to get what we want. Think of a toddler’s temper tantrum and how often the parent capitulates to the two-year old in order to stop the child from crying. Or think of the adult who uses tears to garner sympathy and support for a cause. Even so, by-in-large tears are a healthy expression of an inner emotion. I have shed a lot of tears lately, tears of grief, tears of fear, and tears of joy. I am grateful for the gift of tears.

3 Comments

  1. My blog was just linked in your related articles, and there has been a ping? of your blog in my blog’s comment section?

    Why is that? How does that work? Thanks!

    Mikhail 😀

    • Hi Mikhail! Often when one writes a blog, there are other WP blogs that might be of a similar subject so WP will “suggest” the link to the blogger to include in his or her post. When you are done writing you article, before you post it, scroll down to the bottom of the page. On the right hand side will be a list of suggested blogs that you might want to link in your post. Just check the ones you like and it will automatically be added at the bottom of your post. Also, a “pingback” will be sent to the other blogger. If someone reads my post and likes it, they may check out the other links for more on the subject, and that means more traffic for you (and vice versa). Sounds confusing I know, but it’s one way bloggers have of supporting each other. Thanks for stopping by and for asking.

      Cecelia 🙂

  2. Thanks for the pingback. Much appreciated.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. By Crying is a good thing « bluegrassnotes on 24 Nov 2011 at 4:05 am

    […] Gratitude 82: Tears (perpetualgratitude.wordpress.com) Share this:EmailPrintFacebookLinkedInStumbleUponTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. […] Gratitude 82: Tears (perpetualgratitude.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

