Skip navigation

Last night the phone rang late ~ too late. I sensed something was wrong. I didn’t answer it right away, rather let the caller leave a message. After all, I was probably being melodramatic. About ten minutes later however, I couldn’t let it rest and anxiously checked the phone messages. David, my brother, with urgency in his voice told me to call back immediately, the it was imperative that I return the call. I found out that Dad had an abdominal aneurism rupture. He was rushed to the hospital and was in surgery as David and I spoke. David’s parting words were “this does not look good.” I called the kids then I began praying. Prayer is a huge part of my life, not just in emergencies, but every day. When things like this happen however, there is an added fervency, one prays with intense kavannah. Around 1:30am I got the call that Dad had done well in surgery and had responded excellently to the skilled surgeons and other medical personnel as they repaired five ruptures. He is now in ICU at Jewish Hospital in Louisville, KY, and the prognosis looks good. But last night we didn’t know what the outcome would be. Today I find myself paying attention more, to life, to people, to voices, to family. Everyday we walk this earth is a gift. My dad has been given the gift of more days and we’ve been given the gift of more time with Dad. I love you Dad. I am beyond extremely grateful that Dad pulled through emergency surgery to repair a ruptured abdominal aneurism.

2 Comments

  1. I can’t imagine life without Grandpa!! I am so grateful he came through. We continue to pray and look forward to seeing him soon. I love you Mom.

    • I love you, too, Tim. Yes, we are all grateful the Dad pulled through. Thank you for your prayers and loving him so much. You kids are all special to both Mom and Dad.


4 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] post by ceceliafutch This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. ← Lucky. The Story of […]

  2. […] Gratitude 76: Dad pulled through emergency surgery to repair ruptured aneurism. . . (perpetualgratitude.wordpress.com) Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed Water Recycling shower wins $684,000 in the Green Challenge Rate this: Share this:StumbleUponFacebookPrintEmailDiggRedditTwitterLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Five Question Friday, postaweek2011 and tagged Birthday, Five Question Friday, Mental health counselor, Nicaragua, Pacific Islands, Polynesian Cultural Center, postaweek2011, Rosh Hashanah, Spiritual Direction by ceceliafutch. Bookmark the permalink. […]

  3. […] Gratitude 76: Dad pulled through emergency surgery to repair ruptured aneurism. . . (perpetualgratitude.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Gratitude 76: Dad pulled through emergency surgery to repair ruptured aneurism. . . (perpetualgratitude.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

