Skip navigation

 

My friends all know that I love spring and summer. Spring is my favorite time of year because everything is coming back to life. I’m usually not so keen on autumn and winter. How sad because we are now living in Cleveland where there is a lot of the colder months! Having said all that however, it occurred to me earlier this week that autumn is a beautiful month. Yes, it is the harbinger of colder days ahead, but autumn itself is beautiful. Colors are more rustic, but they are brilliant none-the-less, as the photos attest. From what I’m told, the colors will continue to intensify as the season progresses so I have a lot to look forward to. Autumn is a transitional season as the earth prepares for its winter hibernation. I thought about how life is like that, too. I once dreaded the middle-age and old years. Not so much anymore. I’m discovering that life is as colorful and joyful as ever. I’ve really come into my own and I’m far more optimistic than I was in my youth. I can’t do all the things I use to do; I do other things, more meaningful things instead. Young folks look at me and see the added wrinkles — and pounds — and dread this stage much as I once did. But I’m discovering it is a grand stage in life. Autumn mirrors life. I have dreaded its arrival, but this past weekend as Richard and I were exploring new trails to hike, I was struck with the beauty of the coming autumnal season, and I smiled. I can honestly say that I am grateful for autumn.

4 Comments

  1. Thanks for the pingback! Much appreciated. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the pingback!


4 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. By I love Autumn! | Inside Out Cafe on 20 Sep 2011 at 12:45 pm

    […] Gratitude 73: Autumn (perpetualgratitude.wordpress.com) […]

  2. By Autumn Has Arrived | Inspired Vision on 02 Oct 2011 at 2:52 pm

    […] Gratitude 73: Autumn (perpetualgratitude.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Gratitude 73: Autumn (perpetualgratitude.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Gratitude 73: Autumn (perpetualgratitude.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

