Skip navigation

Today was one of those dampish, coldish days where all you want to do is hibernate. So that is what I did! The past six weeks were filled with intensive activity as we prepared to move and I continued my studies. I’ve had several “melt downs” along the way, and moments when I just wanted to throw in the towel and walk away. I’ve written enough about the details of the move, but for anyone who has repeatedly gone through this process of relocating, you know how tiring it is. Today marks one week since I joined my husband here in to our new apartment. Boxes still wait to be unpacked, yet for the most part we’ve got the place to a livable situation.But today felt like a “do nothing” day. So rather than working to empty more boxes or fixing the place up, I sat down with my books and read and slept. Pele, my Norwegian Forest cat, sat on my lap or on my shoulder and we both snoozed on and off for most of the day. We rested. I did not play music or listen to the radio, and intentionally kept phone-talk to a minimum. I hopped on the computer a little bit to catch up with blogs or to check mail, then as quickly as I hopped on, I hopped off. I am a firm believer in taking time from the frantic busyness of life to rest and recuperate. Today’s quiet stillness was food for my soul as well as rest for my body. I’ll do some more reading for my class ~ if I feel like it ~ and tomorrow morning I’ll post a discussion to the course-room, but that is about it. Tomorrow afternoon I will jump back into the swing of unpacking and getting the apartment in order (there is really not much left to do) but for the remainder of this evening, I will stay mellow, relaxed, lethargic. I will rest. I am grateful for times when we are able to rest from life’s crazyness.

6 Comments

  1. What a lovely way to spend a day 🙂 It’s totally recharging.
    I bet that you kitty was uber grateful too, to spend quiet time with you.

    • It was a totally peaceful day! wonderful… Today things begin to pick back up. Thanks for stopping by and for leaving a comment. Much appreciated. BTW, I hopped over to your blog, Sipping Pretty….gorgeous sight!….but I couldn’t leave a comment.

  2. What a wonderful way to treat yourself after months of emotional motion and physical activity. I adore cold rainy days because I give myself permission to relax. Lovely post!

    • Thanks Marge, for stopping by. I’m glad you like the post. It was one of those days when I needed a rest so I took it! With age comes wisdom 🙂

  3. There is nothing more soothing than the sound of a cat purring while they rest.
    It’s the best sleeping pill. I miss my Maya. She was a fluffy calico. She was from
    a family of many kitties. I loved her because when I was trying to decide I noticed
    she sat patiently and waited to feed from her mom. She was always like that. She
    passed away this May after giving me 22 years of bliss. I miss her dearly. I hope one day to get
    another when my feelings for her loss have diminshed but there will never be another, Maya.

    Thank you for sharing you rvery special rest day … and … your cat.
    Isadora

    • Isadora, thank you so much for stopping by this “little” blog. My heart goes out to you regarding your beloved Maya. Pets are incredibly wonderful, loyal companions. I grieved for a very long time when my blue russian, Possum, passed away after almost 18 years. He was quite a companion to Pele, too. Now Pele is 18 years old, blind and not as spritely as she once was. But she still cuddles and I love her. She is very special. Again, condolences on the loss of your Maya. Blessings to you.

      Cecelia


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] however, I have one that I think fits the bill. I used it some weeks ago on my gratitude blog (see here) but it fits this challenge quite nicely. Take a look and tell me what you think. My cat, Pele, and […]

Leave a Reply

