Skip navigation

Today was the last day of Colloquia, a required residential learning experience for my graduate program.  It was held in Arlington, VA, home of Arlington National Cemetery.  I love sight-seeing in the metro~Washington, DC, area, but I’ve never been to Arlington.  For those of you who follow my other blog, Inspired Vision, you probably know that we are moving next week to Ohio.  Since the national cometery was on my route home from my last meeting today, I decided to stop and spend some time there.  I don’t know when I’ll get the chance again.  I don’t understand war, or why we have to have wars, or why we glorify combat.  But I do know that there is evil in this world, and that it is perpetuated on all sides.  I think of despots throughout history who seek to destroy other cultures, religions, people.  I think about fanatics who feel that anyone who does not agree with their world-view should die.  I could go on and on.  And then I think about those who commit to a cause higher than themselves, those who sacrifice their lives in an effort to prevent domination by the evil that would destroy indiscriminately.  Does that mean that we are “righteous” and do no evil ourselves?  No.  But I do believe that on the whole, most of our men and women fight for our country with pure motives and the belief that evil can be stopped.  I walked among the graves today and looked at the dates of the many battles of the many wars that have been fought by our country throughout the years, and I am grateful for those who answered the call to protect.  Our system is flawed, and wars are senseless for sure.  But there are too many people and places who have no qualms about wreaking havoc and destruction on those whom they perceive to be weaker, or different.  I wonder where this country would be if not for the people of our armed services who are committed to duty and honor for this country and the freedoms we too often take for granted.  Yes, I am grateful and humbled for those who have sacrificed their lives through the years for this country and for liberty.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Gratitude 61: Those Who Made the Ultimate Sacrifice (perpetualgratitude.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

