Skip navigation

Each morning an hour or two before daybreak, I hear the loud chatter and chirping of birds outside my bedroom window.  Contrary to what you might think, I love being awakened by their warbling and fussing with each other.  Oftentimes I will open the window shades, then crack the window open a bit in order to better hear their sounds as I watch them flit about with the rising sun in the background.  When I am home with Mom and Dad, I sit on their back porch for hours and watch a variety of birds vying for their turn at the bird feeder planted within easy eyesight of those of us who enjoy watching.  This photo was taken when we last made a spontaneous trip to the seashore.  I watch in awe as birds soar overhead with complete abandon and marvel at their grace, beauty and variety of vibrant colors.  I even have an app on my iPod of the different sounds of various birds.  I refer to it when trying to identify a bird that I can hear but not see.  Birds are delightful (and yes, at times obnoxious), beautiful creatures that enhance the natural world.  I am grateful for birds!

4 Comments

  1. Hi! I love your act of simple gratitude! It’s really the little things in life that make life wonderful. Have a great day!

    Cheers,
    Louise

  2. Beautiful Picture! I too am grateful for the beauty of nature including the wonderful bird sounds.

    • Thanks for stopping by, Sue. Glad you like the picture. Have a great day, and please feel free to come back.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Gratitude 53: Birds (perpetualgratitude.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

