Skip navigation

What would we do without the ubiquitous telephone?  I remember the old rotary telephones and shared party lines back in the day. Not too long ago I remember seeing a video of children put in a room with an old rotary phone just to see what they would do.  Not one of them knew what the thing was, much less how to use it!  Do you remember when there was only one phone in the homes of most families?  To own two was a luxury.  Also, there was no call waiting. Arguments between siblings were all too common, especially among teenagers, each wanting access to the phone.  Remember the busy signal letting the caller know that the callee (or someone from the callee’s residence) was on the line?  Upon hearing the signal, the caller just hung up and called back later.  Mom and Dad monitored our once or twice a year call to grandparents, limiting each of us kids to just a few words so as not to run up the phone bill.  That was back when we used to write letters to stay in touch.  From those early memories of telephones we have evolved through multiple phones in each home, to cordless phones, to personal cell phones for everyone in the family.  Yes, phones can be obnoxious.  But then they always have been.  Last night as I talked to Mom who lives hundreds of miles away, I thought of how fortunate I am to talk to her almost daily regardless of the miles between us.  And we can talk for as long as we want.  My kids are scattered across the country, but we are able to chat whenever the mood strikes.  I get to hear my grandchildren’s voices, and my oldest grandson is old enough that he and I can carry on conversations.  I love to hear about his days.  Even when shopping, Richard goes one direction and I go another, but our cell phones make it easy to find each other when we are ready to move on to our next rendezvous.  I can’t leave out the emergency calls, too.  In the event of an emergency, I can summon help immediately thanks to my cell phone. We may wax eloquent about the “good old days,” but today I am grateful for our phones!

2 Comments

  1. I love this website because it makes you think about being grateful for what you have and it makes you more aware not to want so many things in order to be happy. Once you count what you have, even though it is not always a lot you immediately see that you have so much to thankful for and you realize that so many millions of people have so much less than you and maybe they don’t even complain as much as we do.
    When I think of the youth of today I worry that they don’t appreciate what an easy life they have, their generation has not been through a war on their homeland where they could then only afford bread with a bit of fat on it for supper like in the days of my father during the 2nd world war or where they had to make their own toys out of wood and make their own kites and go-carts.
    Anyway when I saw your cell phone, I just felt glad that I have a little Tracfone designed for old people, a SVC Samsung T155G, it has big buttons and big letters so that I can see better when I dial a no. rather than me first having to find my reading glasses to dial out.
    After reading about you I realized that everyday before I go to bed I must think of one thing that I’m grateful for. I think it makes you more content.
    Thanks for a great website.

    • Wow Teresa, you absolutely made my day! Years ago when I was suffering from severe chronic depression, my youngest daughter gave me two small journals and suggested that each night before going to bed I list five things from that day to be thankful for. At first it was very difficult. Within two weeks however, I could not stop counting the number of things for which I was grateful. When I saw the “365 Gratitude Project,” I jumped right in. I am so glad that you enjoy this site. It is a joy each day to publish a gratitude. I humbly thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment. Have a magnificent day!


Leave a Reply

