Skip navigation

There is nothing like the aroma of freshly brewed coffee wafting through the air first thing in the morning.  As a child I remember waking up each day to sounds coming from the kitchen and the smell of coffee as Mom,  who awoke before anyone else stirred, “put the coffee on.” I looked forward to being an adult just so I could drink coffee with the  grownups.  I am a grownup now, and the aroma of brewing coffee is just as enticing as it ever was, and that first cup . . . in the quiet, watching the sunrise, listening to birds warble and the cat purring while everyone else is still asleep. . . is ritual.  I am grateful for my morning coffee..

3 Comments

  1. I love my morning coffee. I remember all the different coffee pots Mom had as I was growing up. One in particular was a white coffee pot that looked like a large teapot. I remember there where roosters on it I suppose to remind you of coffee as early as the rooster crows. I can stil hear it perculating in my mind and oh the smell so divine. I love your gratitude project.

    I’m trying to work on an attitude of gratitude daily. What a great way to start that attitude with one thing at a time.

    • Ohhhh, as you reminisce I, too, am reminded of my parents coffee pot! It was a drip maker, kind of strange looking. Mom put the coffee in the top piece, then a plunger thingy on top of the coffee grinds. She would boil water and then pour it in the top, the water would then drip down through the coffee grinds into the pot below. What memories. Wish I had a photo of the thing. Isn’t it funny how these little mundane activities spark our most vivid, warm memories? Thanks for you comments. And too, I agree that gratitude is a great way to start the day! Have a good one.

  2. Now that you mention your parents coffee maker I remember Mom had another two-part coffee maker like you mentioned. The Swedish ladies from our church make egg coffee at the annual meeting each year. It’s an art I haven’t learned yet and not sure that I will. It tastes great!


Leave a Reply

